Let´s watch a movie.

by Dorthea

Hawaii International Film Festival (HIFF) is starting today, and for the next 10 days I´m going to mingle with directors, actors, watch movies, eat popcorn and pretend to be a member of the press. For those of you who remember, my first semester at HPU I was lucky enough to be a part of HIFF, and this year I´m blessed with the opportunity to participate again.

With 220 different movies from 45 different countries to choose from, it´s so difficult to chose the ones to watch, but so far, here is my top five to watch.

Headhunters

Movie from Norway which is based on the amazing book Headhunters by Jo Nesbø. I´ve read the book, now I am ready to watch the movie. A little feeling of home in paradise is never wrong.

33 postcards

China and Australia is behind this cutie of a movie. We follow the journey of Mei mei who grew up in an orphanage in China and dreams of meeting her sponsor Dean Randall in Sydney.

Senna

This is the story the monumental life and tragic death of legendary Brazilian motor-racing Champion, Ayrton Senna. A must see for racing-addicts like myself.

The Decendents

What could go wrong with George Clooney? Nothing. The movie takes base in Hawaii, and is the story of a land baron who tries to re-connect with his two daughters after his wife suffers a boating accident. A warming, sweet and funny movie. Hopefully the stars themselves show up at the showing <crossing fingers>.

The Bully Project

A beautifully cinematic, character-driven documentary directed by Lee Hirsch. The movie follows five kids and families over the course of a school year. I´m definatly going to cry at least once, and hopefully this movie is as good as I expect it to be.

Whatcha think? You like´m?